Youth Robotics Teams Inspire Record Crowds at FIRST® Championship in Houston

Highest Rookie Seed

  • Carver-Newton Division: Team 7887, Final FRONTIER, Camarillo, Calif.
  • Galileo-Roebling Division: Team 7498, Wingus & Dingus, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Hopper-Turing Division: Team 7840, EMONER, Istanbul, Turkey

Rookie All-star Award

  • Carver-Newton Division: Team 7567, SESI SENAI SÃO PAULO OCTOPUS, Bauru, Mexico
  • Galileo-Roebling Division: Team 7565, SESI SENAI SÃO PAULO ROBONÁTICOS, São Paulo, Brazil
  • Hopper-Turing Division: Team 7451, Avenger Robotics, Cumming, Ga.

Rookie Inspiration Award

  • Carver-Newton Division: Team 7653, Minebots, Santiago Papasquiaro, Mexico
  • Galileo-Roebling Division: Team 7465, MAGNETECH, Atakum, Turkey
  • Hopper-Turing Division: Team 7724, Molokai Robotics, Hoolehua, Hawaii

Judges’ Awards

  • Carver-Newton Division: Team 2486, CocoNuts, Flagstaff, Ariz.
  • Galileo-Roebling Division: Team 7403, Lightning Blue Lizards, Envigado, Colombia
  • Hopper-Turing Division: Team 6831, A-05 Annex, Hood River, Ore.

2. FIRST® Tech Challenge World Championship FIRST Tech Challenge students learn to think like engineers. Teams build robots from a reusable kit of parts, develop strategies, document their progress, and compete head to head. In the 2018-19 game, ROVER RUCKUS Presented by Qualcomm, robots descend from the lander, collect and sort minerals into cargo holds, and perform autonomous tasks to compete on the field during two-and-a-half-minutes of gameplay.

More than 70,000 students on 7,000 FIRST Tech Challenge teams competed during the 2018-2019 season. FIRST Tech Challenge sponsors include Season Presenting Sponsor Qualcomm, Official Program Sponsor Rockwell Collins, and IoT, CAD and Collaboration Sponsor PTC.

  • The FIRST Tech Challenge World Championship Inspire Award, recognizing excellence in robot design and teamwork, went to Team 9879, Root Negative One, Springdale, Ark.
  • The Winning Alliance was Team 3101, Boom Bots, Palm Harbor, Fla.; Team 5064, Aperture Science, Elon, N.C.; and Team 6547, Cobalt Colts, Leawood, Kan.

Other FIRST Tech Challenge awards included:

  • Division Winners –
    • Franklin Division: Team 3101, Boom Bots, Palm Harbor, Fla.; Team 5064, Aperture Science, Elon, N.C.; and Team 6547, Cobalt Colts, Leawood, Kan.
    • Jemison Division: Team 9829, MAKbots, San Antonio, Texas; Team 724, RedNek Robotics Wun, Sun River, Mont.; and Team 11260, Up-A-Creek Robotics, Longmont, Colo.
  • Division Finalists –
    • Franklin Division: Team 12599, Overcharged, Portland, Ore.; Team 7105, SWIFT Intergalactic Space Llamas, Vass, N.C.; and Team 7172, Technical Difficulties, Plano, Texas
    • Jemison Division: Team 6929, Data Force, Highlands Ranch, Colo.; Team 7161, ViperBots Hydra, Austin, Texas; and Team 11089, Bytes of Kitkats, Portland, Ore.
  • Collins Aerospace Innovate Award – Team 7357, Team Titanium Tech, Lees Summit, Mo.
  • Design Award – Team 6929, Data Force, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
  • Motivate Award – Team 3526, Marlbots, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Connect Award – Team 8651, Wait For It..., Pearl, Miss.
  • Think Award – Team 2856, Tesseract, Seattle, Wash.
  • Control Award – Team 8404, Quixilver, San Jose, Calif.
  • Promote Award – Team 12599, Overcharged, Portland, Ore.
  • Judges’ Award – Big Data Share Award – Team 11104, Bearded Pineapples, Kirkland, Wash.
  • Judges’ Award – Rising Star Award – Team 15935, DONKPINK, Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico.
  • Judges’ Award – All Systems Pro Award – Team 16088, MechDancer, Beijing, China.
  • Judges’ Award – The Magic of Art in Technology Award – Team 16089, Void Ponderer, Beijing, China.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7  Next Page »

Review Article Be the first to review this article

© 2020 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us
ShareCG™ is a trademark of Internet Business Systems, Inc.

Report a Bug Report Abuse Make a Suggestion About Privacy Policy Contact Us User Agreement Advertise