2011 Independent Games Festival Announces Main Competition Finalists

SAN FRANCISCO, Jan. 3, 2011 — (PRNewswire) — The Independent Games Festival (IGF) has announced the Main Competition finalists for the thirteenth annual presentation of its awards, celebrating the brightest and most influential creations to come out of the independent video game development community in the past year.  All of the IGF finalists will be playable on the Expo show floor at the historic 25th Game Developers Conference (GDC), to be held at San Francisco's Moscone Center February 28-March 4, 2011.  In addition, nearly $50,000 of prizes in various categories, including the $20,000 Seumas McNally Grand Prize will be awarded to these games at the Independent Games Festival Awards on the evening of March 2 immediately preceding the acclaimed Game Developers Choice Awards.

This year's finalists for the most prestigious indie game awards are led by multiple nominations for standout titles including Frictional Games' psychological horror game Amnesia: The Dark Descent and Mojang's acclaimed 3D worldbuilding sandbox title Minecraft, which received three nominations each.  Other multiple-nominated titles include QCF Design's short playtime 'dungeon crawl' adventure Desktop Dungeons, Messhof's two-player retro fencing game Nidhogg, which received three nominations including its previously-announced Nuovo Award nod, and Supergiant Games' lush isometric adventure title Bastion.

In addition, with the integration of the Best Mobile Game award into the IGF Main Competition, there was stiff competition across all categories from games on platforms including iPhone, Android, iPad and beyond, with Best Mobile Game finalists including Ratloop's unique 'line of sight' puzzler Helsing's Fire and former IGF Grand Prize winner Erik Svedang's 'minimalistic dueling game' for iPad Shot Shot Shoot, as well as Mikengreg's popular App Store title Solipskier.

The full list of finalists for the 2011 Independent Games Festival, with jury-picked 'honorable mentions' to those top-quality games that didn't quite make it to finalist status, is as follows:

Seumas McNally Grand Prize

Amnesia: The Dark Descent (Frictional Games)

Desktop Dungeons (QCF Design)

Minecraft  (Mojang)

Nidhogg (Messhof)

SpyParty (Chris Hecker)

Honorable mentions:

  • Bit.Trip Runner (Gaijin Games); Neptune's Pride (Iron Helmet Games); Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale (Carpe Fulgur); Retro City Rampage (Vblank Entertainment); Super Crate Box (Vlambeer)

Excellence In Visual Art

Bastion (Supergiant Games)

Bit.Trip Runner (Gaijin Games)

Cave Story (2010 Edition) (Nicalis)

The Dream Machine (Cockroach)

Hohokum (Honeyslug & Richard Hogg)

Honorable mentions:

  • Cobalt (Oxeye Game Studio); Faraway (Steph Thirion); Flotilla (Blendo Games); Helsing's Fire (Ratloop); Retro City Rampage (Vblank Entertainment)

Technical Excellence

Amnesia: The Dark Descent (Frictional Games)

Confetti Carnival (SpikySnail Games)

Miegakure (Marc ten Bosch)

Minecraft (Mojang)

Neverdaunt:8Bit (Robot Loves Kitty)

Honorable mentions:

  • Achron (Hazardous Software); Cobalt (Oxeye Game Studio); Hazard: The Journey Of Life (Demruth); Overgrowth (Wolfire Games); Swimming Under Clouds (Piece of Pie Studios)

Excellence In Design

Desktop Dungeons (QCF Design)

Faraway (Steph Thirion)

Minecraft (Mojang)

Nidhogg (Messhof)

Super Crate Box (Vlambeer)

Honorable mentions :

  • Bo (Mahdi Bahrami); Brutally Unfair Tactics Totally OK Now [B.U.T.T.O.N.] (Copenhagen Game Collective); Flotilla (Blendo Games); Helsing's Fire (Ratloop); Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale (Carpe Fulgur)

Excellence In Audio

Amnesia: The Dark Descent (Frictional Games)

Bastion (Supergiant Games)

Bit.Trip Beat (Gaijin Games)

Cobalt (Oxeye Game Studio)

Retro City Rampage (Vblank Entertainment)

Honorable mentions :

  • Bit.Trip Runner (Gaijin Games); Cave Story (2010 Edition) (Nicalis); Jamestown (Final Form Games); NightSky (Nicalis); Planck (Shadegrown Games)

Best Mobile Game

Colorblind (Nonverbal)

Halcyon (Stfj)

Helsing's Fire (Ratloop)

Shot Shot Shoot (Erik Svedang)

Solipskier (Mikengreg)

Honorable mentions :

  • Flick Kick Football (PikPok); Shibuya (Nevercenter); Spirits (Spaces Of Play); Tentacles (Press Play); Trainyard (Matt Rix)

1 | 2  Next Page »

Review Article Be the first to review this article

© 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us
ShareCG™ is a trademark of Internet Business Systems, Inc.

Report a Bug Report Abuse Make a Suggestion About Privacy Policy Contact Us User Agreement Advertise