"Together With" Exhibition at Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design Presented by Philip J. Steele Gallery and Hyperlink

DENVER, Aug. 18, 2017 — (PRNewswire) —  Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design (RMCAD) presents a special exhibition featuring distinguished Denver-based artist collective, Hyperlink. Together With will take place in the Philip J. Steele Gallery on RMCAD's campus. The exhibition will run from September 7October 5, 2017.

About the Exhibition
Together With is an exploration of duality, specifically addressing the so-called middle distance between two extremes. The premise of the exhibition was an artistic and geographic exchange—taking place both in Denver, CO, and Madison, WI, in order for Hyperlink artists to engage with others across the country. Whether Denver and Madison are considered West or Midwest, they are both situated within the vast expanse between, and apart from, the two major American art hubs of Los Angeles and New York. Together With draws artists and their work from both coasts while emphasizing the Midwest as a meeting place, a middle ground.

The theme of duality is so broad as to be practically an anti-theme; it invites a diverse range of interpretations. Some artists' work deliberately explores sub-themes such as the transition between life and death; inside and outside; body and soul. Some of the work formally interprets duality by using materials we associate with barriers, or creating pieces and spaces that transition from two-dimensional to three-dimensional. Additionally, some work operates in a more conceptual sense by juxtaposing the beautiful and the grotesque; the limits or barriers of the body; views on privacy and publicity; and perceptions of the real and the imaginary. The eclectic group of artists and artwork meet in an exhibition wherein multiple dualities revolve around and touch off of one another.

Participating Artists
Hyperlink artists

  • Theresa Anderson (theresaandersonart.com)
  • Amber Cobb (ambercobb.com)
  • Tobias Fike (tobiasfikeart.com)
  • Ian Fisher (ianfisherart.com)
  • Donald Fodness (donaldfodness.com)
  • Matthew Harris (matthewharris.net)
  • Laura Shill (lauraleeshill.com)
  • Derrick Velasquez (derrickvelasquez.com)
  • Summer Ventis (summerventis.com)
  • Ashley Williams (aerofauna.com)
  • Kathryn Wingard (kathrynwingard.com)
  • Xi Zhang (xizhang.org)

Non-Hyperlink artists

  • Sofia Arnold (sofia-arnold.com)
  • Mandy Lyn Ford (mandylynford.com)
  • C. Anthony Huber (huberstudio.com)
  • Claire Kellesvig (clairekellesvig.com)
  • Kyle Kogut (kylekogut.com)
  • Esau McGhee ( http://art.newcity.com/2015/05/12/portrait-of-the-artist-esau-mcghee/)
  • Brian Prugh (brianprugh.com)
  • Mariana Russell (marianarussell.com)
  • Joni Van Bockel (jonivb.com)
  • Sara Willadsen (sarawilladsen.com)
  • Jason Yi (jasonyi.com)

Attendance
All RMCAD Gallery exhibitions are free and open to the public.

About the Gallery
The Philip J. Steele Gallery is the largest dedicated gallery space on RMCAD's campus. The Gallery exhibits student, alumni, and faculty work in addition to nationally and internationally renowned visiting artist, scholars, and designers. The Gallery mission is to create a space for dialogue, using contemporary art as a vehicle for critical discourse. Gallery hours are Monday – Saturday, 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

About Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design
A premier arts school in the Denver area, Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design is an innovative, rigorous, and community-oriented global learning environment that inspires passion for critical thinking and prepares learners to be forces of change in the creative industries, our communities, and the world. Find more information at www.RMCAD.edu or by calling 800.888.ARTS.

Presented by Philip J. Steele Gallery at
Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design
Guest Curator: Kate Mothes   

Dates: September 7October 5, 2017
Reception: Thursday, September 7, 2017 from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Philip J. Steele Gallery
1600 Pierce Street
Denver, CO 80214

MEDIA CONTACT:
Rick Dailey
rdailey@rmcad.edu

 

View original content: http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/together-with-exhibition-at-rocky-mountain-college-of-art--design-presented-by-philip-j-steele-gallery-and-hyperlink-300506608.html

SOURCE Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design

Contact:
Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design
Web: http://www.rmcad.edu




Review Article Be the first to review this article
Kenesto: 30 day trial
Canon: CW910
MasterCAM



© 2017 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us
ShareCG™ is a trademark of Internet Business Systems, Inc.

Report a Bug Report Abuse Make a Suggestion About Privacy Policy Contact Us User Agreement Advertise